Film Students do as Film Students do.

People like film, or movies, I get that. What’s great about the cinema is that it is such a global medium, with given exceptions certainly, but it has become a tool for indentifying both ourselves and the world around us. Credit’s due where credit is due; books have and still do a fine job. The newspapers (bar the Daily Mail) have done their part. Radio and the internet are both incredible in their potential for sly whimsy in light of satire, TV too, can gets a heads up when Hollyoaks isn’t on. But really, in my book (Yeah, would you really have me say copy of Empire there?) Cinema tops them all.

This thought occured to me recently when I was shoved in front of a very old (1895 would you have it) and influential film with less of a premise than you could shake gratuities at Michael Bay at. “Rough Sea At Dover” was the name;

“A study of water in motion.”

You can see, if by any chance interested the clip here, I do recommend it. While it may fall dead on some, I felt I could really appreciate the novelty of this film, and believe me, it is a novelty, and that is to its strength. Laymen’s terms, it’s just water moving about BUT I can only stress, with the upmost hyperbole, the beauty the water posseses. And it’s Dover for christ’s sake. Not the most exotic, clean or flattering part of the British coastline (albeit those cliffs are pretty nice). Yet the film restores some beauty in what I for one, probably would not appreciate fully with my own eyes.

And that is simply one of the powers of cinema; to capture our own reality in ways that we could not appreciate. Of course, much of this is known far and wide, even if it is not expressed by the majority, but I felt it was worth noting.

Sadly, the majority of films consumed by the public call bollocks on my opinion.

Leave a Reply

